Posted on January 27, 2018 / 113
Listing Type : Graduate / Masters
Item Type : Study in Europe
Website :
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn was established on September 1, 1999 by combining three existing higher education schools in Olsztyn: Agricultural and Technical University, Higher Pedagogical School and Warmian Institute of Theology. UWM combines the tradition of fifty-year ART, thirty-year WSP and over 450 years of theological education in Warmia.

The history of the University of Warmia and Mazury dates back to 1950. On May 31 this year, the first university in Olsztyn was established – University of Agriculture , which was renamed in 1972 to the Agricultural and Technical University . On 19 June 1969, the Higher Teacher Training School was established in Olsztyn , transformed into the Higher Pedagogical School in 1974 . However, on April 23, 1980, the Warmian Institute of Theology was established .
The intense and successful efforts of the Olsztyn scientific community focused in the Olsztyn Scientific Forum for the establishment of the University of Olsztyn lasted the entire decade of the 1990s. On June 1, 1999, the government adopted a bill on the establishment of the University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn. On June 1, this memorial became a university holiday.

At the start, ie in 1999, the UWM had 12 faculties and 32 faculties, as well as 24.5 thousand students. The university had the right to habilitation in 6 scientific disciplines and to the awarding of doctorates in 13 disciplines. The first rector under the Act on the establishment of UWM in Olsztyn was prof. dr hab. Ryszard Górecki. The main seat of the university became Kortowo – an academic town previously owned by ART.

UWM has been developing intensively almost since its inception. His didactic and scientific base has significantly increased. The university purchased modern equipment of laboratories and laboratories. UWM used for this purpose substantial funds from EU funds. New faculties were established, new fields of education appeared.
At present UWM consists of 17 departments. 14 faculties have full academic rights, i.e. the power to confer academic degrees of habilitated doctor (in 16 disciplines). However, the doctoral degree can be given by 16 faculties in 24 disciplines.

On these 17 faculties in the academic year 20016/17, over 20,000 are educated on 74 faculties. students, including approx. 19 thousand in full-time studies and 600 doctoral students and 1.2 thousand people at post-graduate studies.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.
Related Listings